Virginia Commonwealth Transportation Board

Jennifer DeBruhl

Director, Department of Rail and Public Transportation

Jennifer DeBruhl, AICP, PMP, was appointed the Director for the Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation (DRPT) in June 2022 by Governor Youngkin. She also serves as a member of the Commonwealth Transportation Board, chair of the Virginia Passenger Rail Authority board, and as a board member for several transit organizations around the Commonwealth.

Ms. DeBruhl joined DRPT as the Chief of Public Transportation in 2016 following over 20 years of distinguished public service to the transportation community, at the Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) and Federal Highway Administration (FHWA). At DRPT, Ms. DeBruhl played a significant role in the development and implementation of Virginia’s Making Efficient + Responsible Investments in Transit (MERIT) program increasing accountability in public transportation funding, launching the Virginia Breeze intercity bus service, and spearheading the new Transit Ridership Incentive Program to expand regional connectivity and reduce barriers to transit use.

Ms. DeBruhl has an undergraduate degree in Urban Studies, a master’s degree in Urban and Regional Planning, and a Certificate in Public Management, all from Virginia Commonwealth University. She is a member of the American Institute of Certified Planners, Leadership APTA Class of 2018, Chair of the APTA State Affairs Committee and member of the Board of Directors, Vice Chair of the AASHTO Multi-state Transit Technical Assistance Program Steering Committee, and is a certified Project Management Professional.

Contact Director DeBruhl at