DRAFT MINUTES OF MEETING OF THE COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD WORKSHOP

Central Office Auditorium 1221 East Broad Street Richmond, Virginia

> December 18, 2008 10:00 a.m.

The meeting of the Commonwealth Transportation Board was held in the Central Office Auditorium of the Virginia Department of Transportation in Richmond, Virginia on December 18, 2008. The Chairman, Pierce R. Homer, presided and called the meeting to order at 10:08 a.m.

* * *

Present: Messrs. Bowie, Davies, Dickens, Keen, Koelemay, Martin, McCarthy, Schwartz, Sterling, White, Witt; Ms. Carter and Ms. Connally; Vice Chairman Ekern and Mr. Badger, ex officio, Acting Director of the Department of Rail and Public Transportation. Absent: Mr. Davis

Chairman Pierce Homer recognized Mr. Charles Badger, the Acting Director for Rail and Public Transportation. Mr. Badger will be representing the Department of Rail and Public Transportation until a new Director is named. Brenda Crouch was also noted as helping the board until Carol Mathis returns.

- Revised 2009-2014 Six year Program Update Department of Rail and Public Transportation Six-Year Improvement Program Pierce Homer, Secretary of Transportation Reta Busher, Virginia Department of Transportation Steve Pittard, Department of Rail and Public Transportation Referenced by attachment of presentation
- 2. Blueprint Update David S. Ekern, P.E., Virginia Department of Transportation Referenced by attachment of presentation
- 3. Hampton Roads Bridge Tunnel Malcolm Kerley, P.E., Virginia Department of Transportation Referenced by attachment of presentation

A lunch break was called at 12:20 p.m. The Workshop Meeting was resumed at 1:29 p.m.

- 4. Secondary Street Acceptance *Nicholas Donohue, Assistant Secretary of Transportation* Referenced by attachment of presentation
- 5. VTRANS Presentation Ralph Davis, Deputy Secretary of Transportation Dr. Mary Lynn Tischer, Virginia Department of Transportation

Draft Minutes of the Commonwealth Transportation Board Workshop Meeting of December 18, 2008 Page 2

> 6. Discussion on Future Direction for the Board Pierce Homer, Secretary of Transportation

Comments were made by Messrs. Bowie, Dickens, Keen, Koelemay McCarthy, McCarthy, Schwartz, Sterling Witt, Ms. Connally, and Chairman Homer

ADJOURNMENT:

The meeting adjourned at 2:49 p.m. The next meeting will be held on Thursday January 15, 2009, beginning at 12:00 p.m. in the VDOT Central Auditorium in Richmond, Virginia, 1221 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA

####