

COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

Commonwealth Transportation Board

Aubrey L. Layne, Jr.
Chairman

1401 East Broad Street Richmond, Virginia 23219 (804) 786-2701 Fax: (804) 786-2940

MINUTES MEETING OF THE COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD WORKSHOP MEETING

VDOT Central Auditorium 1221 East Broad Street Richmond, Virginia 23219 December 5, 2017 10:00 a.m.

The workshop meeting of the Commonwealth Transportation Board was held in the Central Office Auditorium of the Virginia Department of Transportation in Richmond, Virginia, on December 5, 2017. The Chairman, Aubrey L. Layne, presided and called the meeting to order at 10:06 a.m. beginning with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Present: Messrs., Brown, Connors, Garczynski, Johnsen, Kasprowicz, Malbon, Stinson, Williams, Whitworth, Yates and, Ms. DeTuncq, Ms. Hynes and Ms. Valentine; Mr. Kilpatrick, ex officio, Commissioner of Highways and Ms. Mitchell, ex officio, Director of the Department of Rail and Public Transportation.

Absent: Mr. Stinson.

- 1. DC2RVA Recommendations

 Jennifer Mitchell, Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation

 Referenced by attachment of presentation.
- 2. Rail Station Policy

 Jeremy Latimer, Virginia Department of Rail & Public Transportation

 Referenced by attachment of presentation.
- 3. Virginia Byways Program Overview

 Julie Brown, Virginia Department of Transportation

 Referenced by attachment of presentation.
- 4. Governor Harry Nice Bridge

 Marcie Parker, Virginia Department of Transportation

 Referenced by attachment of presentation.

Minutes Meeting of the Commonwealth Transportation Board Workshop Session December 5, 2017 Page 2

5. I-95 Southbound Rappahannock River Crossing Stafford County and City of Fredericksburg Marcie Parker, Virginia Department of Transportation Referenced by attachment of presentation.

The Vice-Chairman suspended the meeting at 12:30 p.m. to allow the Board to have lunch, indicating that the meeting would reconvene in 30 minutes.

The Vice-Chairman called the suspended meeting to order at 1:04 p.m.

6. I-66 Outside the Beltway Concession Fee Projects
Renee Hamilton, Virginia Department of Transportation
Referenced by attachment of presentation.

Following Mr. Kilpatrick's remarks, Vice-Chairman, Mr. Garczynski, briefed the Board on the New Member Orientation Task Force, sharing handouts and asking for thoughts from the other task force members regarding the creation and purpose of the handouts.

The Vice-Chairman suspended the meeting at 2:30 p.m. on December 5, 2017 indicated that the suspended meeting would reconvene at 9:00 a.m. on December 6, 2017, beginning with workshop agenda item 7 followed by workshop agenda 8.

The Chairman called the suspended meeting to order at 9:03 a.m. December 6, 2017. Prior to taking up the remaining agenda items, the Chairman briefed the Board on the I-66 Tolling that commenced on Monday, December 4, 2017.

- 7. VTrans Update
 Nick Donohue, Deputy Secretary of Transportation
 Referenced by attachment of presentation.
 This presentation was removed from the agenda.
- 8. Surface Transportation Performance Management and Target Setting Nick Donohue, Deputy Secretary of Transportation Referenced by attachment of presentation.
- 9. Commissioner's Items
 Charles Kilpatrick, Virginia Department of Transportation
- 10. Director's Items

 Jennifer Mitchell, Virginia Department of Rail & Public Transportation
- 11. Secretary's Items *Aubrey Layne, Secretary of Transportation*

Minutes Meeting of the Commonwealth Transportation Board Workshop Session December 5, 2017 Page 3

<u>ADJOURNMENT:</u> The meeting adjourned at 9:57 a.m. on December 6, 2017. The next workshop meeting will be held on Tuesday, January 9, 2018 beginning at 10:00 a.m. in the Virginia Department of Transportation Central Office Auditorium located at 1221 East Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219.

* * *