

## Commonwealth Transportation Board

Aubrey L. Layne, Jr. Chairman

1401 East Broad Street Richmond, Virginia 23219 (804) 786-2701 Fax: (804) 786-2940

## MINUTES MEETING OF THE COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD

VDOT Central Auditorium 1221 East Broad Street Richmond, Virginia 23219

> July 28, 2016 9:00 a.m.

The workshop meeting of the Commonwealth Transportation Board was held in the Central Office Auditorium of the Virginia Department of Transportation in Richmond, Virginia, on July 28, 2016. The Chairman, Aubrey L. Layne, presided and called the meeting to order at 9:12 a.m.

Present: Messrs., Brown, Connors, Fralin, Garczynski, Kasprowicz, Malbon, Rosen, Stinson, Williams, Whitworth, Yates and, Ms. DeTuncq, Ms. Hynes, Mr. Kilpatrick, Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Transportation and Ms. Mitchell, ex officio, Director of the Department of Rail and Public Transportation.

Absent: Mr. Garczynski and Ms. Valentine

## 1. Governance

Aubrey Layne, Secretary of Transportation

The Chairman spoke to the recently enacted legislation that named the most senior member of the Board as the Vice Chair and suggested the second most senior member serves as Secretary to the Board. The recommendation was accepted and made by Mr. Yates, seconded by Mr. Rosen with a vote taken and the recommendation was passed by all.

The Chairman introduced the newest Board members, Ms. Mary Hughes Hines and Mr. Jerry Stinson.

- 2. Hampton Roads Transportation Planning Organization Bob Crum, Executive Director Referenced by attachment of presentation.
- 3. Virginia Railway Express Financial Update Doug Allen, Chief Executive Officer Referenced by attachment of presentation.

Minutes Meeting of the Commonwealth Transportation Board July 28, 2016 Page 2

- 4. I-66 Northern Virginia Transportation Commission Kate Mattice, Acting Executive Director Referenced by attachment of presentation.
- 5. Updated Guidelines and Selection Criteria for the Virginia Transportation Infrastructure Bank *John Lawson, Virginia Department of Transportation Referenced by attachment of presentation.*

The Chairman suspended the workshop a 11:41 a.m. on July 28 2016 to take up the action agenda at the request of Board members under a time constraint.

The Chairman called the suspended meeting to order at 1:15 p.m. on July 28, 2016 and took up the remaining agenda items.

- 6. Advanced Traffic Management System Briefing
  Dean Gustafson, Virginia Department of Transportation
  Referenced by attachment of presentation.
- 7. Commissioner's Items
  Charles Kilpatrick, Virginia Department of Transportation
- 8. Director's Items

  Jennifer Mitchell, Virginia Department of Rail & Public Transportation
- 9. Secretary's Items *Aubrey Layne, Secretary of Transportation*

## **ADJOURNMENT:**

The meeting adjourned at 2:07 p.m. on July 28, 2016. The next workshop meeting will be held on Tuesday, September 20<sup>th</sup>, 2016 beginning at 9:00 a.m. at the Courtyard by Marriott Fredericksburg Historic District, 620 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401.