

COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

Commonwealth Transportation Board

Aubrey L. Layne, Jr. Chairman

1401 East Broad Street Richmond, Virginia 23219 (804) 786-2701 Fax: (804) 786-2940

MINUTES MEETING OF THE COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD

VDOT Central Auditorium 1221 East Broad Street Richmond, Virginia 23219

July 28, 2016 9:00 a.m. or upon adjournment of the July 28, 2016 Workshop Meeting

The action meeting of the Commonwealth Transportation Board was held in the Central Office Auditorium of the Virginia Department of Transportation in Richmond, Virginia, on July 28, 2016. The Chairman, Aubrey L. Layne, presided and called the meeting to order at 11:42 a.m.

Present: Messrs., Brown, Connors, Fralin, Garczynski, Kasprowicz, Malbon, Rosen, Stinson, Williams, Whitworth, Yates and, Ms. DeTuncq, Ms. Hynes, Mr. Kilpatrick, ex officio, Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Transportation and Ms. Mitchell, ex officio, Director of the Department of Rail and Public Transportation.

Absent: Mr. Garczynski and Ms. Valentine

Public Comments:

Ms. Naomi Hodge Hughes, Martinsville NAACP, addressed the Board regarding the I-73 Bypass alternate location.

* * *

Ms. Nancy Smith, Northern Virginia Transportation Alliance, addressed the Board regarding I-66;

Approval of Minutes June 14, 2016

Made By: Mr. Rosen, Seconded By: Mr. Williams Motion carried, minutes approved, with three abstentions, Mr. Kasprowicz, Mr. Stinson and Ms. Hynes with their reason being they were not present at the June 14, 2016 meeting.

MAINTENANCE DIVISION:

Agenda Item 1. Action on Commemorative Naming of the Bridge on State route 618, Oakes Landing Road, Middlesex County Located in the Hampton Roads District as the "Joshua Holmes Memorial Highway".

Made By: Mr. Connors, Seconded By: Mr. Williams Motion carried, resolution approved, unanimously.

* * *

DEPT. OF RAIL & PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION:

Agenda Item 2. Action on I-66 Northern Virginia Transportation Commission.

Made By: Ms. Hynes, Seconded By: Mr. Kasprowicz Motion carried, resolution approved, unanimously.

* * *

INFRASTRUCTURE INVESTMENT DIVISION:

Agenda Item 3. Action on Addition of Projects to the Six-Year Improvement Program for Fiscal Years 2017-2022.

Made By: Mr. Rosen, Seconded By: Mr. Williams Motion carried, resolution approved, unanimously.

* * *

Agenda Item 4. Action on FY17-22 Six-Year Improvement Program Transfers For June 14, 2016 through June 24, 2016.

Made By: Mr. Fralin, Seconded By: Mr. Rosen Motion carried, resolution approved, unanimously.

* * *

Agenda Item 5. Action on Adoption of Revised Policy and Approval of Guides for Implementation of a Project Prioritization Process.

Made By: Ms. DeTuncq, Seconded By: Mr. Rosen Motion carried, resolution approved, unanimously.

* * *

LOCAL ASSISTANCE DIVISION:

Agenda Item 6. Action on Revenue Sharing Reallocation Specifically Bull Creek Road Located in Buchanan County in the Bristol District.

Made By: Mr. Stinson, Seconded By: Mr. Whitworth Motion carried, resolution approved, unanimously.

* * *

Agenda Item 7. Action on Revenue Sharing Reallocation Specifically Slate Creek Located in Buchanan County in the Bristol District

Made By: Mr. Stinson, Seconded By: Mr. Brown Motion carried, resolution approved, unanimously.

* * *

Agenda Item 8. Action on Virginia Byway Designation Specifically Route 80 in Dickenson, Buchanan and Russell Counties Located in the Bristol District.

Made By: Mr. Stinson, Seconded By: Mr. Williams Motion carried, resolution approved, unanimously.

* * *

Agenda Item 9. Action on Economic Development Access Specifically Grayson County Industrial Park Project Process II Located in the Bristol District.

Made By: Mr. Stinson, Seconded By: Mr. Brown Motion carried, resolution approved, unanimously.

* * *

Agenda Item 10. Action on Revenue Sharing Reallocation Specifically Beulah Road NE, Phase II Town of Vienna in the Northern Virginia District.

Made By: Ms. Hynes, Seconded By: Mr. Kasprowicz Motion carried, resolution approved, unanimously.

* * *

Agenda Item 11. Action on Revenue Sharing Reallocation Specifically Figsboro Road in Henry County Located in the Salem District.

Made By: Mr. Fralin, Seconded By: Mr. Brown Motion carried, resolution approved, unanimously.

* * *

Agenda Item 12. Action on Virginia Byway Designation Specifically Route 601 in Fauquier County Located in the Culpeper District.

Made By: Ms. DeTuncq, Seconded By: Mr. Rosen Motion carried, resolution approved, unanimously.

* * *

NORTHERN VIRGINIA DISTRICT:

Agenda Item 13. Action on Extension of HOV-2 lanes from Gainesville to Haymarket on Interstate 66 and Reiteration and Consolidation of Record Regarding HOV Designations on Interstate 66.

Made By: Ms. Hynes, Seconded By: Mr. Kasprowicz Motion carried, resolution approved, unanimously.

* * *

HAMPTON ROADS DISTRICT:

Agenda Item 14. Action on Authorization for the Commissioner of Highways to Enter into a Project Agreement Between VDOT and the Hampton Roads Transportation Accountability Commission Regarding Preliminary Engineering Relating to the Route 460/58/13 Connector Project (UPC 106694).

Made By: Mr. Malbon, Seconded By: Mr. Williams Motion carried, resolution approved, unanimously.

* * *

CONSTRUCTION DIVISION:

Page 1 of the attached report dated, June 23, 2016, recommending award of award of order number J40.

Made By: Mr. Connors, Seconded By: Mr. Williams

Motion carried, bid awarded.

* * *

Page 1 of the attached report dated, June 23, 2016, recommending award of award of order number J48.

Made By: Mr. Rosen, Seconded By: Mr. Brown

Motion carried, bid awarded.

* * *

NEW BUSINESS:

Mr. Malbon made a motion to affirm the selection of Mr. Garczynski as the Vice Chairman which was seconded by Mr. Whitworth followed by a vote at which time the motion passed unanimously.

* * *

Ms. DeTuncq made a motion to affirm the selection of Mr. Whitworth as the Secretary of the Board which was seconded by Mr. Williams followed by a vote at which time the motion passed unanimously.

* * *

ADJOURNMENT:

The meeting adjourned at 12:38 p.m. on July 28, 2016. The next action meeting will be held on Wednesday, September 21, 2016 beginning at 9:00 a.m. at the Courtyard by Marriott Fredericksburg Historic District, 620 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401.

| Approved: | |
|-----------|----------|
| | Chairman |
| Secretary | |